Unrelated Content

At the behest of my boss, I’ve been considering including some of the silliness that happens at my day job. It’s not related to the job hunt, and the day-to-day here is usually too mundane to fill even the most lazy half-hour of television. It has its moments, though.

For background information, I work at a help desk which monitors a University computer lab and manages several computer-equipped classrooms.  We’re located in the Foreign Languages Building, so a good chunk of the clientele are not native English speakers.

This incident wasn’t enough to turn any heads, but it’s a fairly good representation of my daily responsibilities. About 90% of my interactions with lab users involve reciting the process of converting the stuff that appears on their computer screens into paper representations thereof.  Just now, a guy walked up to the desk and asked how he could pay for printing. I replied that charges are billed to your university account automatically; we don’t accept payment in cash. He pulls out his wallet. I explain again, in different words, that you pay online, not at the desk.  No cash.  He stares blankly at me for a beat and then pulls out a dollar.

I should have taken it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment